Ahmad Shahzad returns for New Zealand T20Is

Right-handed opener Ahmad Shahzad made yet another comeback for Pakistan as he was included in the 15-man squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against New Zealand.


The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) National Selection Committee headed by Inzamam-ul Haq announced the decision after consultation with captain Sarfraz Ahmed and head coach Mickey Arthur on Wednesday.

All-rounder Imad Wasim, who missed out in the ODI series due to the knee injury, will not be able to recover in time for the series and therefore all-rounder Mohammad Nawaz will take his place in the squad.

“Imad Wasim was yet to recover from his knee injury and was told to continue his rehabilitation at the NCA,” said Inzamam. “Mohammad Nawaz has been named to replace Imad Wasim. Sohaib Maqsood was not considered for selection due to the back injury, and will undergo rehabilitation at the NCA.”

Squad: Sarfraz Ahmed, Fakhar Zaman, Ahmed Shehzad, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Harris Sohail, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Amir Yamin, Muhammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Rumman Raees, Umar Amin.